Skip To Main Content

Search Panel

Schools Menu

Sports Medicine Team Takes 1st Place at State Championship for 9th Consecutive Year!

Sports Med student group photo at state championship

Congratulations to the Issaquah High School Sports Medicine students, who competed last weekend in the Washington Career and Technical Sports Medicine Association (WCTSMA) State Championship and took first place for the ninth consecutive year! 

“Washington state is the home of the first high school sports medicine programs around the nation and first sports medicine competition in the nation,” said Todd Parsons, who teaches sports medicine at IHS and leads the Sports Medicine Team. “Our state competition is the largest in the nation and is known for having the most difficult and diverse state competition.” 

This year’s conference had more than 900 students competing, representing 55 schools. Disciplines include General Sports Medicine Tests, Practical Skill Specialists, Medical Term Specialists, Anatomy and Physiology Specialists, Emergency Responder Specialists, Exercise Physiology, Med School Interview, Quiz Bowls, and a competition called Anatomage, which uses a 6-foot interactive cadaver table and asks students to find anatomy structures. 

Six of the Eagles placed in the top 8 overall, taking second, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth. All 19 IHS team members placed in the top 10% of all competitors.  Winning this competition qualifies the team to compete in the Sports Medicine National Championships. 

“It was an amazing weekend, and I could not be more proud of this group,” Parsons said. “They worked incredibly hard all year dedicating hundreds of hours individually toward giving their own personal best to this competition.” 

Students who placed include: Corrado Masciocchi, second overall; Will Stroh, fourth overall; Nandita Annamanei, fifth overall; Jiwan Tib, sixth overall; Haley Bautel, seventh overall; Cate Menting, eighth overall; Ayush Bansal, first place Med Terms Specialist (State Champion); Elsie Whelan, Med Terms Specialist 5th Place; Charlotte Philipsen, first place Anatomy and Physiology Specialist (State Champion); Maddy Jia, second place Anatomy and Physiology Specialist; Abigail Stipe, third place Emergency responder Specialist; Mansi Mishra eighth place Emergency responder Specialist; Jenna Dedhar, fourth place Exercise Physiology Specialist; Eric Badjan, fifth place Exercise Physiology Specialist. Members of the State Champion Quiz Bowl team included Sahana Rao, Kira Charoenkul, James Hou, Dania Xiang and Maggie Noble.